listen while browsing
October 2017: Pushing The Envelope

You can say that someone has tried, without necessarily turning their back on tradition, or tearing up the rule book and starting all over, to find ways to transcend limitations – either their own or those of their chosen field, or genre. Or you can use an excellent idiomatic expression and just say they're pushing the envelope. The most interesting artists always push the envelope in some way. I should add, though, that I think we're sometimes too ready to expect or demand something which is actually quite rare, namely originality; and we sometimes overrate iconoclasts at the expense of good solid craftsmen who have successful careers and give pleasure to many.

Read Full Post

Subscribe to our mailing list

That's All, Folks!
Posted on 6/27/2017

The Fast Forward tour finally wrapped up on June 25th in San Antonio, Texas – its 88th show. Joe would like to thank the following for one of his most successful and enjoyable tours in many years:

...read more
Joe on Alec Baldwin's
Posted on 5/30/2017

Listen to Joe's wide-ranging conversation with Alec Baldwin on his excellent podcast Here's The Thing HERE

...read more